Thanksgiving in July

woke upMost people would tell me to wait until November to be thankful. I can’t. Here lately, I’ve been thinking of all the things I’m thankful for and wanted to share. Please be advised: this is not a complete list.

I’m thankful for my wife. Judy is a wonderful wife and mother. She works very hard inside and outside the home. There are so many of her qualities I want to emulate. One of them is when she makes a commitment, she fulfills it. I have trouble with that sometimes. She has saved my life and saved my soul. She was the one who sat at my bedside every day for more than 30 days when I was in the hospital. Thank you, Lord, for giving her to me.

I’m thankful for my children. I have three of the best kids any man could ever have. Christy, Cathy and Scott have been my pride and joy my entire life. They have always exceeded my expectations. When I die, I will be happy knowing there are three human beings in the world who are making a difference in the lives of others. Thank you, Lord, for giving them to me. I know it must have been difficult sometimes for them to grow up in a house that often didn’t have a father, but thank you for allowing me to have corrected some of that.

I’m thankful for my friends. In January and February of this year (and even up until now) there were so many people who were praying for me. There were people in Michigan, Tennessee, Alabama, South Carolina. Just recently I found out there were people in the Philippines, in Russia and in Brazil who were praying. My wife had people she never met come up to her and give her money. Lord, I’m so thankful for all my friends everywhere.

Last, but not least or all, I’m thankful for my brothers and sisters in Christ who have prayed for me, cried tears of sorrow during my illness and tears of joy when I recovered by the grace of God.

There is a verse in Daniel chapter nine that I’ve loved especially during the last six months. While praying to God, a heartbroken Daniel wrote, “For we do not present our pleas before you because of our righteousness, but because of your great mercy,” (Daniel 9:18b ESV).  God’s great mercy is why I’m so thankful. I don’t deserve another chance, but God has given me one. Join me in thanking him for his mercy and grace.

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving in July

Leave a Reply

